Scientific Advisory Board

Robert Doebele, MD, PhD Chairman

Dr. Robert Doebele cofounded Rain Therapeutics in April 2017 and serves as the executive vice president, chief scientific officer and is the chair of the Scientific Advisory Board.  Prior to joining Rain full time, Dr Doebele was an Associate Professor of Medicine in the Division of Medical Oncology at the University of Colorado School of Medicine. He also served as the Director of the Thoracic Oncology Research Initiative at the University of Colorado Cancer Center; and was the principle investigator of the University of Colorado Lung Cancer Specialized Program of Research Excellence.  He is also a Senior Editor of the AACR journal Clinical Cancer Research.

Bob received his AB in Molecular Biology from Princeton University, and received his MD, PhD in Immunology from the University of Pennsylvania.  He conducted his internal medicine residency and a medical oncology fellowship at the University of Chicago.

Lori Kunkel, MD

Dr. Lori Kunkel currently serves on the board of directors of Loxo Oncology, Inc., Curis, Inc., Maverick Therapeutics, Inc., and Tocagen, Inc. Previously she has served as acting chief medical officer of Loxo Oncology, Inc., chief medical officer of Pharmacyclics, LLC, and Proteolix, Inc. and vice president of clinical development at Xencor, Inc. Prior to her career in biotechnology, Lori spent a decade in academic medicine as a faculty member at the Bone Marrow Transplant Unit in the Division of Hematology/Oncology at University of California, Los Angeles.

Lori has held board certifications in hematology and oncology and holds a BA in biology from the University of California, San Diego and an MD from the University of Southern California.

Christopher Kirk, PhD

Dr. Chris Kirk is cofounder, president, and chief scientific officer of Kezar Life Sciences. Dr. Kirk has worked in the biotechnology industry since 2001 and has held numerous positions in drug discovery and development. Prior to forming Kezar, Chris was the Vice President of Research at Onyx Pharmaceuticals, where he played a key role in the discovery and development of two proteasome inhibitors, carfilzomib (KYPROLIS™) and oprozomib. Chris joined Onyx via the acquisition of Proteolix in 2009, where he was the one of the first scientific hires after their Series A funding.

Chris received his BS from U.C. Davis and his PhD in Cellular and Molecular Biology from the University of Michigan in 1999.

Trever Bivona MD, PhD

Dr. Bivona is a Professor in Residence and an Attending Physician in Thoracic Oncology at UCSF, and serves on the Advisory boards for AstraZeneca, Novartis, Array Biopharma, Revolution Medicines, Inventiva, Takeda, and Jazz Pharmaceuticals.

As a physician-scientist with training in medical oncology and a Ph.D. in cell and molecular biology, he directs a laboratory-based research program in basic and translational oncology at UCSF. He has successfully translated 6 laboratory-based discoveries into clinical trials over the last 8 years in the form of investigator-initiated (6) and company-sponsored (2) clinical studies.  His areas of interest include cancer, lung, kinases, oncogenes, tyrosine kinase inhibitors, genomics and signal transduction.

Dr. Bivona has served as an Ad hoc reviewer for over 20 professional publications and has supervised/mentored a multitude of Predoctoral Students, Postdoctoral Fellows/Residents and faculty members. 

Dr. Bivona received his BS with Honors in Molecular Biology at Vanderbilt Univ., his PhD in Molecular and Cell Biology at NYU School of Medicine in 2004, and his MD at NYU School of Medicine in 2005.  He was a Clinical Fellow at Harvard, a Fellow of Oncology at Memorial Sloan-Kettering and Postdoctoral Fellow at Memorial Sloan-Kettering.  He is board certified in Internal Medicine and Medical Oncology.

Brian Metcalf, PhD

Dr. Metcalf is a former Biotech and Pharma executive, with extensive expertise in chemistry, across both medicinal chemistry drug discovery and process chemistry.  Dr. Metcalf has served as the Chief Scientific Officer (CSO) for Global Blood Therapeutics, Executive Vice President and Head of Drug Discovery for Incyte Corporation, and Senior Vice President of Discovery Chemistry and Platform Technologies for SmithKline Beecham.  He also serves currently on the Scientific Advisory Boards for Maze, Global Blood Therapeutics, Prelude, and BridgeBio.

Dr. Metcalf received his B.Sc with honors and PhD in Organic Chemistry from University of Western Australia, received Postdoctorals in Chemistry at the University College, London and at Stanford University.